Gloria’s Promise, a new picture book published in collaboration with American Ballet Theatre

Gloria’s Promise, a new picture book published in collaboration with American Ballet Theatre

Robin Preiss Glasser, the bestselling illustrator of the beloved Fancy Nancy series, and her sister, critically acclaimed children’s book author Jacqueline Preiss Weitzman, have joined forces to create a two-book series in partnership with American Ballet Theatre (ABT) about a young dancer and her big dream.

Gloria’s Promise: A Ballet Dancer’s First Step (Random House Studio and American Ballet Theatre | On Sale Now | Ages 4–7) is the first book in the series, which introduces readers to a young ballet dancer whose boundless determination drives her dream of being accepted to the renowned ABT Summer Intensive Training program. Glasser, an alumna of American Ballet Theatre’s training program and former soloist with Pennsylvania Ballet, draws from personal experience to bring exquisite and authentic detail to every illustration in this inspiring and heartwarming story.

Gloria has a very big dream: to be admitted to a summer intensive at American Ballet Theatre. The day of the audition arrives, and Gloria couldn’t be more excited! She can’t wait to dance and show the world what she can do. Once inside ABT’s studios, Gloria gets a glimpse into glorious rooms filled with pointe shoes, ballet dancers getting fitted for tutus, and an awe-inspiring Company rehearsal. She can barely believe her eyes! During the audition, Gloria strives to make an impression by pushing herself to be her best. But when she falls in front of the teacher, she wonders if her determination will be enough.

For fans of Bunheads and Firebird by Misty Copeland or the classic Angelina Ballerina books, Gloria’s Promise is perfect for readers looking for a peek into the life of a dancer, the renowned ABT Summer Intensives, or anyone with a big dream.

Robin Preiss Glasser is the national bestselling illustrator of many books for children, including the Fancy Nancy series, written by Jane O’Connor; Lambslide and Escape Goat, written by Ann Patchett; and Grand Jeté and Me by ballerina Allegra Kent. Robin is an alumna of the American Ballet Theatre School scholarship program under Patricia Wilde and later danced professionally with the Pennsylvania Ballet, now called Philadelphia Ballet. She lives in California with her husband.

Jacqueline Preiss Weitzman is the author of several books for children, including the award-winning You Can’t Take a Balloon into the Metropolitan Museum and its sequels, created in close collaboration with her sister Robin Preiss Glasser. Her most recent books are Superhero Joe and Superhero Joe and the Creature Next Door, illustrated by Ron Barrett. Jacqueline lives in Hastings-on-Hudson, New York, with her husband, writer Larry Weitzman.

Click here to learn more about Gloria’s Promise.

where can i buy clomid buy clomid