Inaugural Chita Rivera Awards coming up

2017 Chita Rivera Awards NYCThe inaugural ceremony of the Chita Rivera Awards will be presented on Monday, September 11, 2017 at the Al Hirschfeld Theatre in NYC under the auspices of American Dance Machine for the 21st Century (ADM21). The awards, which were previously known as the Fred and Adele Astaire Awards, seek to celebrate choreographers and dancers of stage and screen. They will honor established and emerging artists alike.


Four-time Tony Award nominee Randy Skinner will direct the 2017 ceremony. Theater and dance legend Tommy Tune will receive the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award.


The designated Nominating Committees determined nominations for the productions under consideration this season. There are separate Nominating Committees for Broadway, Off Broadway and Film. See the full list of 2017 nominations below.


2016-17 Chita Rivera Awards: Dance in Theater Nominations


Outstanding Choreography in a Broadway Show:

– Andy Blankenbuehler, Bandstand

– Josh Bergasse, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

– Warren Carlyle, Hello Dolly!

– Peter Darling and Ellen Kane, Groundhog Day

– Kelly Devine, Come from Away

– Denis Jones, Holiday Inn

– Sergio Trujillo, A Bronx Tale


Outstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show:

A Bronx Tale



Come from Away

Hello Dolly!

Holiday Inn

Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812


Outstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway Show:

– Corbin Bleu, Holiday Inn

– John Bolton, Anastasia

– Max Clayton, Bandstand

– Tyler Hanes, Cats

– Ryan Kasprzak, Bandstand

– Ricky Ubeda, Cats


Outstanding Female Dancer in a Broadway Show:

– Andrea Dotto, Bandstand

– Lora Lee Gayer, Holiday Inn

– Eloise Kropp, Cats

– Georgina Pazcoguin, Cats

– Emma Pfaeffle, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

– Megan Sikora, Holiday Inn

– Christine Cornish Smith, Cats

– Jaime Verazin, Bandstand


Outstanding Choreography in an Off-Broadway Show:

– Joshua Bergasse, Sweet Charity

– David Dorfman, Indecent

– Merete Muenter, The Golden Bride

– David Neumann, The Total Bent

– Misha Shields, Baghdaddy


Outstanding Female Dancer in an Off-Broadway Show:

– Yesenia Ayala, Sweet Charity

– Asmeret Ghebremichael, Sweet Charity

– Nikka Graff Lanzarone, Sweet Charity

– Emily Padgett, Sweet Charity

– Lyrica Woodruff, Finian’s Rainbow


Outstanding Male Dancer in an Off-Broadway Show:

– Ato Blankson-Wood, The Total Bent

– Brandon Espinoza, Baghdaddy

– Curtis Wiley, The Total Bent

– Cody Williams, Sweet Charity

– Blake Zolfo, Kid Victory


2016-17 Chita Rivera Awards: Choreography in Film Nominations


Theatrical Release Nominees:

Beauty and the Beast, Anthony Van Laast, Choreographer

La La Land, Mandy Moore, Choreographer

London Road, Javier De Frutos, Choreographer

Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping, Danielle Flora and Tian Wang, Co-Choreographers


Documentary Nominees:

Alive and Kicking (Magnolia Pictures, Distributor), Director: Susan Glatzer

Dancer (WestEnd Films), Director: Steven Cantor

Mr. Gaga (Abramorama Films), Director: Tomer Heymann

Restless Creature (Abramorama Films), Directors: Linda Saffire, Adam Schlesinge


Visit for more information.


Logo photo of Chita Rivera by Andrew Eccles.