Industry Dance Awards hit Hollywood

2015 Industry Dance Awards and Cancer Benefit ShowThe 2015 Industry Dance Awards and Cancer Benefit Show is set for this Wednesday, August 19 at the legendary Avalon Theater in the heart of Hollywood. This year’s celebration will showcase memorable performances and highlight the diverse achievements of industry leaders and innovators.


This year’s sponsors include Tremaine Dance Convention, The PULSE on Tour and L.A. Dance Magic, with all three combined providing over 50 years of convention touring experience. At the 2015 awards, a Best Convention Performance Award will be given to a routine performed at each of the three conventions.


Additionally, each of these conventions has selected two of their master teachers to be nominated for the Favorite Convention Teacher Award, which is being chosen by popular vote. Nominees are DJ Guthrie and Will Thomas for L.A. Dance Magic, Laurie Johnson and Meghan Sanett for Tremaine Dance, and Tricia Miranda and Brian Friedman for The PULSE on Tour.


Other awards include the IDA People’s Choice, Choreography Of The Year and stylistic categories, like Best Jazz, Best Lyrical/Modern/Contemporary, Best Tap, Best Musical Theater/Novelty/Character, Best Hip-Hop and Best Open/Ballet/Acro (for convention routines.)


The 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Academy, Tony, Emmy and Grammy Award–winning actress/singer/dancer Rita Moreno. Known for her long stage career and significant film appearances, Moreno is the only Hispanic and one of the few performers ever to have won all four major annual American entertainment awards.


The 2015 Dance Icon Award will go to Vincent Paterson, a director and choreographer who has had an expansive career in many parts of the entertainment industry including film, theater, Broadway, concert tours, opera, music videos, television and commercials. He has achieved success worldwide, with some of his most iconic work including Michael Jackson’s BAD Tour and Madonna’s Blonde Ambition tour.


Other major awards that have been announced include:


~ The 2015 Dance Innovator Award, going to Emmy Award-winning choreographer Mia Michaels, perhaps best known for her contemporary choreography performed on So You Think You Can Dance and her new choreography for Broadway’s Finding Neverland.


~ The 2015 Breakthrough Performer Award, going to High School Musical star Vanessa Hudgens, who played the lead in this year’s beloved, award-winning musical Gigi for her Broadway debut. She will star in the live Fox musical Grease alongside Julianne Hough in early 2016.


~ The 2015 New Media Influencer Award, going to dancer Ian Eastwood, who has a YouTube following of 500,000+ subscribers and boasts 50 million views to date. Eastwood recently choreographed the MTV Woodie Award-winning “Sober” music video, was Supervising Choreographer on the feature-length movie Breaking Through and played a featured character in the to-be-released movie High Strung.


~ The 2015 Role Model Award, going to ABC’s Dancing With The Stars Judge Carrie Ann Inaba, a veteran choreographer who has worked on American Idol and SYTYCD as well.


The hosts of this year’s Industry Dance Awards are Step Up 2: The Streets star Robert Hoffman, on-air personality known for his comedic parodies and viral hits, and former classical ballerina and Radio City Rockette Keltie Knight, entertainment correspondent of CBS’s The Insider.


For more information on the 4th annual Industry Dance Awards, visit Dance Informa will be in attendance, so be sure to follow our social media for posts live from the show.