NYC program unites 4 women-led companies

A B M M LIVE at New York Live ArtsArmitage Gone! Dance, Buglisi Dance Theatre, Elisa Monte Dance and Jennifer Muller/The Works will join forces Tuesday-Saturday, June 13-17 at New York Live Arts to present a series of five Shared Program Performances featuring six total pieces, of which three are premieres.


Five distinguished and innovative choreographers at the height of their careers, each with an original voice, promise to present a “vibrant evening of dance with an expressive edge that moves minds and hearts with a shared humanity.” The 35 performers will stand out as individuals, yet work in cohesive ensembles.


Entitled A B M M LIVE, the program will offer a rare opportunity to experience five formidable female choreographers and their exceptional dancers together on one stage.


In order of appearance, the program will include:


MOSS 1 – a premiere by Buglisi Dance Theatre

Featuring choreography by Jacqulyn Buglisi and music by composer Paula Jeanine, it is a “flight into the mysteries and science of sacred landscapes and how they relate to the evolving human condition today.”


WALLS – a short preview by Armitage Gone! Dance

Featuring choreography by Karole Armitage and music by composer David Lang, this excerpt of Walls is the first of two sections commissioned by the Ravello Festival in Italy. It’s about “the political arena today.”


DAY’S RESIDUE by Elisa Monte Dance

Featuring choreography by Elisa Monte and music by Slovakian composer Vladimir Godar, it’s a piece that refers to “insignificant and familiar daily occurrences that are used in working through personal archetypical issues in our dreams.”


THE SPOTTED OWL – an excerpt by Jennifer Muller/The Works

Featuring choreography by Jennifer Muller and music by composer Marty Beller, The Spotted Owl is a non-linear piece that addresses the issue of endangered species.


1:3:4:1 – a U.S. premiere by Elisa Monte Dance

Featuring choreography by Tiffany Rea-Fisher and music by composer Paul Ukena, 1:3:4:1 was created on a large outdoor stage. This piece “celebrates the beauty and freedom of the outdoors while exploring the power and grace of the male dancer.”


LIGETI ESSAYS – an excerpt by Armitage Gone! Dance

Featuring choreography by Karole Armitage and music by composer György Ligeti, Ligeti Essays is a series of short haiku-like dances that “reveal different states of mind – from the sarcastic and humorous to the trivial or languorous.”


To reserve tickets to this mixed program, visit


Photo: Armitage Gone! Dance. Photo by Richard Termine.