The 34th Annual Fred and Adele Astaire Awards

Dave Scott accepting his 2016 Fred and Adele Astaire Award for Outstanding Choreography in a Feature FilmThe 34th Annual Fred and Adele Astaire Awards took place on Monday, May 16 at the NYU Skirball Performing Arts Center in New York City. A ceremony to honor those who encompass excellence in dance for both Broadway and film/TV, the Awards started with a red carpet cocktail reception at 6 pm before the main program at 7:30 pm and a VIP party afterward.


The Awards presented performances of “Tradición“ from the musical On Your Feet, Where Do I Begin choreographed and performed by Spencer Liff and Amy Kakima, and A Humble Tribute with tap dancing brothers Leo and John Manzari. Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater’s Rachel McLaren performed an excerpt from the famous work Cry to honor Judith Jamison, who was recognized amongst many other industry leaders.


Jane Krakowski of She Loves Me won Outstanding Female Dancer in a Broadway Show while Phillip Attmore of Shuffle Along won Outstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway Show.


Three choreographers tied for Outstanding Choreographer in a Broadway Show: Andy Blankenbuehler for Hamilton; Savion Glover for Shuffle Along; and Sergio Trujillo for On Your Feet.


Shuffle Along continued to lead the Awards with Outstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show, recognizing performers Phillip Attmore, Darius de Haas, Afra Hines, Curtis Holland, Adrienne Howard, Kendrick Jones, Lisa LaTouche, JC Montgomery, Erin N. Moore, Janelle Neal, Brittany Parks, Arbender Robinson, Karissa Royster, Christian Dante White, Joseph Wiggan, Pamela Yasutake and Richard Riaz Yoder.


Step Up 3D choreographer Dave Scott won Outstanding Choreography in a Feature Film for High Strung, which was just released in theaters nationwide on April 8.


Rumi Oyama of Sayonara won Outstanding Female Dancer in an Off-Broadway Show while Robert Creighton of Cagney won Outstanding Male Dancer in an Off-Broadway Show.


Two choreographers tied for Outstanding Choreography in an Off-Broadway Show: Connor Gallagher for The Robber Bridegroom and Paul McGill for The Legend of Georgia McBride.


In addition to these awards, the Fred and Adele Astaire Awards also honored: Judith Jamison, artistic director emerita of Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, with The Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award; and Nigel Lythgoe of Fox’s television series So You Think You Can Dance with the award for Outstanding Contribution to the Field of Dance.


Other notable honorees include Joel Grey, Harvey Weinstein, Liza Minelli, Tommy Tune, Patricia Birch, Jacques d’Amboise and Ted Chapin with attendees and presenters including Mikhail Baryshnikov, Bebe Neuwirth, Daniel Radcliffe, Sutton Foster, Susan Stroman and Steve Buscemi.


All proceeds from the event benefitted The Douglas Watt Family Fund for the Performing Arts, the non-profit organization which provides services to students with autism and other severe cognitive dysfunctions in New York City public schools. The dance therapy program provided gives these students an outlet for positive communication, creative expression, and vastly improves the lives of over 150 students citywide.


Visit for further information. Read Huffington Post’s recap of the 2016 event here.


Photo: Dave Scott accepting his 2016 Fred and Adele Astaire Award for Outstanding Choreography in a Feature Film. Photo courtesy of High Strung.